Incognito Mode for Google Maps has arrived on Android

  • Open the Google Maps app
  • Tap on your profile picture
  • Tap on “Turn on Incognito mode”

It’s not something you’ll want to use all the time as some features will be disabled, and it’s important to note that it doesn’t turn off all tracking. The places you go won’t be saved to your Location History (if you have that enabled), your searches won’t be saved to your account and it won’t use your information to personalize the experience. Still, you could be tracked by internet service providers, other apps, or if you’re using Assistant and other Google services.

Similar to incognito on Chrome, it’s more useful as a depersonalized look at recommendations than as a full-fledged privacy protector, and a way to make sure that whatever you’re searching for in this instance doesn’t affect your recommendations later — don’t worry, we’re not judging.